About BIM

BIM was developed initially as a response to the UK Government requiring better control of information on its centrally funded schemes to provide best value following a number of successful case studies. 

However, the benefits of BIM have now been demonstrated outside of central government and as such BIM is being adopted across the whole industry.

In 2008 “the BIM wedge” was developed based on the different maturity levels of BIM.  This was then used to establish what standards and practices needed to be developed / updated to allow each maturity level to be adopted.  The current focus of the industry is to adopt maturity level 2.

(Source BS1192-4:2014.)

By 2016 all Government procured assets will have to achieve BIM level 2.

Level 2 Requirements

Following the UK Government target of achieving BIM maturity level 2 by 2016 on all public sector asset procurement, there has been confusion over what are the specific requirements to be met in order to achieve BIM level 2. The requirements to achieve BIM level 2 are outlined within PAS1192-2:2013, which are summarised below.



  • Development of information models which reference, federate or exchange information with other models;

  • Provision of an Employers Information Requirements (EIR) document with clear definition and decision points;

  • Supplier & Supply chain capability assessment;

  • Provision of a BIM Execution Plan (BEP) including assigned roles, standard, methods, & procedures and a master information delivery matrix aligned with the project programme.

  • Provision of a Common Data Environment;

  • Compliance with all relevant documents and standards

  • Development of information models utilising database-based software, and analysis software.


To view the VEKA M70 BIM objects click here


To view the Halo System 10 62mm BIM objects click here

BIMobject Tutorial
VEKA M70 BIM Product Data
Halo System 10 62mm Product Data

< back